Hi, UG.

I just picked up a Peavey Vypyr 75. I got a USB cable that will allow me to plug my amp into my computer for recording. I am completely new to recording, so I was hoping for some advice?

I use a PC. I want to be able to record multiple tracks of my guitar stuff easily -- like I'll record the rhythm guitar part, and a solo guitar part over that, etc. What free software can I get that will allow me to do this? I'm not looking to produce studio quality stuff, can't get that for free haha, just lookin to record some of my solo guitar stuff. What should I download?

Also, is there a way I can easily add a drum track over it for free or no?

Again, I know there's only a limited amount of free stuff, i'm not looking for anything super good, I just want to do some low quality free recording
Well, here's the easiest suggestion. Everyone is going to say Reaper, I'm sure. It's technically free the first month. However, I use (*gasp!*) Audacity for simplicity's sake. I'm used to the program and have used it for some time. It certainly isn't the most powerful audio software, but it does record multiple tracks, and it is free.

As for adding drums, you could always check out HotStepper. As long as you get version 1.0 and not 0.998, it is free (vs. shareware). The only difficulty is finding good drum samples for anything that aren't hip hop or techno (and a few minutes on Google I'm sure will find you something). If you just want the basic drum beats to play over, Hotstepper will export to .WAV files for you to add to your Audacity projects.

I'm of the... erm... budget recording variety myself, and these seem to do fine for me. I'm sure there will be more helpful people responding than I, but this is a start.
Reaper + Free VST Amp Sims = Gold. Much better than running a crap amp through a crappy cord.
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
Quote by drawnacrol
Your joking, the Vypyr is an incredible amp, it makes playing effortless...

If only...

Play a Cort ?

Play with V-Picks ?