EDIT: I redid the chorus. Wasn't ever quite feeling it before.

Been trying my hand at songwriting a bit more lately, biggest issue seems to be ideas. I like to think I'm an alright writer once I've found one. Most of the songs I write I throw out, heh, don't consider the theme good enough. Let me know what you think of this!
Not sure if that's a working title, by the way.

-
I'm not a prince in Elysium
I don't sound much like Montague
I don't know why I'm expected
to be them for you

You came here wanting me
To be more than myself
But I don't know how to be
Anyone else
And if that's not good enough for you...

Chorus:
I haven't bound you to a stone
Just like life this isn't a permanent home
I can't let you control my life
It's mine and mine alone

Homer doesn't take notes on my person
No one says hail to this chief
I turn around and see no crowds
swooning over me

Sure no rating system calls me perfect
But I try very hard to be
I've never wronged you in any way
You can't call me a cheat
But if that's not good enough for you...

(Chorus repeat)

But if you still think I walk on water
Mix nectar in with my wine
Then maybe, maybe, maybe
We've still got a bit of time
-

Any criticism is welcome. =)
Quote by Minion2580
What are some things I should do to make sure I don't touch the wrong thing and die?

Gears:

Vox AC30HH +Avatar 2x12
Martin D-35 Dreadnaught
Carvin CT6T
Last edited by glemnar at Jul 3, 2010,
Good but I just did not read into them that well. I relate to what I think your trying to say, but the lyrics aren't that clearn. 5/10 for a rating.
I thought this had some great ideas, I just felt myself stumbling over the sentences and form. You need to tighten up your flow and structure so that it ebbs along a little easier.