I've been playing for about 5 years, but am now just learning the theory part of it. I've memorized the fret board by memorizing the location of C, then B, then A, and so on. I was told to do it that way instead of starting with the E string and memorizing the notes in order, which I've tried before which ended in frustration. So I got the Fret Board memorized and now looking to move on to the major scales, which I'm guessing is the next step. So I was wondering if anyone had a good method for memorizing scales or any hints or tips for it or if its just a matter of playing them a million times til they're memorized.

Thx
Quote by M' BALZ ES-HARI
I've been playing for about 5 years, but am now just learning the theory part of it. I've memorized the fret board by memorizing the location of C, then B, then A, and so on. I was told to do it that way instead of starting with the E string and memorizing the notes in order, which I've tried before which ended in frustration. So I got the Fret Board memorized and now looking to move on to the major scales, which I'm guessing is the next step. So I was wondering if anyone had a good method for memorizing scales or any hints or tips for it or if its just a matter of playing them a million times til they're memorized.

Thx

The way I learned my scales was by reading key signatures off a staff, and then learning what key the song was in...knowing the order of sharps and flats helped me too.
SHARPS: FCGDAEB
FLATS: BEADGCF

For sharps you can go up one note from the last sharp...so for example you only have one sharp (F#) you just go up a note and the key is G major. For flats it's always the next to last flat , so you have 2 flats (b and e flat) the key is Bb major.
From there I just kinda know the notes, by basing it off C major (A, B, C, D, etc...)
So in G major you have 1 sharp (f), the notes are G, A, B, C, D, E, F#

Hope that made some sense...also if that didn't help check this site out
http://www.musictheory.net/