Hey, I'm fairly new and I need a little help. Since I started playing guitar I've only played blues and pentatonic based stuff. I wanted to know how to get more of a pop/light-rock sound, especially out of an acoustic guitar. I've tried playing in an Ionian mode for lead stuff, but I have a tendency to do a lot of string bending which always makes it sound more bluesy. I also don't know what kind of chord progressions to use when improvising rhythm stuff. I am trying not to play as many 7th chords, but I still fall back on the I-IV-V progression.

I just want to add,I'm not looking for tabs, just advice for writing my own stuff. Also when I say pop/light-rock i mainly mean The Beatles (songs like Yesterday, Across the Universe and Dear Prudence etc.) Coldplay (the guitar songs like Yellow) and a few Oasis songs (Wonderwall and Cast No Shadow).

So basically my questions are
Are techniques like bends and slides avoided when playing in major scales?
What types of chords have a more light rock feel to it?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for any advice.
it is not a case of which techniques and scales/chords give or dont give the sound you are after, it is all how you use them ie. phrasing, note choice etc.
Gibson SG Standard
Ibanez S2170FB
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
TEXAS A&M
Well, first of all, if you want a lighter sound, be sure to take it easy on the power chords, they are called power chords for a reason, they sound powerful. Just mess around with different chord progressions, see what you like, experiment and find what works together, there is no better musician than the one who gains his own style by figuring it out himself. And dont be afraid to use slides, slides sound nice on an acoustic, whether or not to use bends really depends on the song. Just experiment and see what sounds good.