I've been playing for about 5 yrs and am now regretably just barely getting into theory. I was just wondering how long it took everyone to get it down. I know it can be an ongoing thing, but for example, how long did it take you to learn all the major scales. But thats just an example. Please give some insight to the length of the learning process.
I learned it for writing music, not really for guitar (though, I do transfer what I need over) so the process could be a little faster for me since I didn't spend countless hours learning the intricacies of my instrument... It just kinda got there on it's own.

It took me about... 6 months to where I could regurgitate most of the information with little thinking. There are always tricks to make things easy though... that's where a good teacher comes in.
I've still not gotten it down but I started learning little by little maybe 9months in? Something like that.

Edit: I re-read the OP, sorry about my answer. I read the OP like you wanted to know when people started learning theory, not when they fully understood it.
Current Gear:
Mexican Fender Telecaster
Robert Smith custom Jazzmaster
Stratocaster
Vox AC4TV
Last edited by unicornfist at Jul 4, 2010,
I've been playing for over 20 years now and there is still a lot I don't know and can't do.

I constantly try to raise the bar for myself.

I honeslty believe i will never be satisfied with my ability. Whereever I get I will always want to get better.

I'm sorry this doesn't really answer your question. Everyone is different though and no two jouneys on the road to discovery are the same. you just gotta keep chipping away at it.

To learn the major scales was less than two weeks though.
I've been playing guitar for 3 years (nearly 4) and started learning theory after 2 years. In that time I've learnt up to grade 7 classical theory and abot grade 7-8 popular (think jazz chords and modes).