Hi. I've been playing guitar for almost 2 years and have been with my Epi LP 100 and Frontman 15G amp. I haven't been very satisfied with this setup. The guitar goes out of tune often, especially with bends, and the sound coming out sounds really MIDIsh or close to 8-bit / 16-bit gameboyish sounds.

My friend suggested me to get an LP Standard. Will that make much of a difference and is it worth it? Long and Mcquade is selling LP Standards for $510-550. Should I get the LP Standard Plus instead? Is the problem in the amp or the guitar? Please help me out =) I don't know much about guitar gear. I just want better sound so I can enjoy playing even more.

I like to play classic rock, punk rock, and metal, more on the latter two so I thought an LP would be better.

As for my budget, I'm prepared to spend anywhere under $1000. After watching a couple vids, I don't think I need a Gibson LP but you can try to prove me wrong if you want. I think I'll be getting the much cheaper Epi though.

Thanks for everyone's help.
the neck is set in, comes with better hardware and pickups, it's definetly worth the money, and with the extra money you have you can get yourself a decent new amp
what kind of amp do you suggest? to be honest i don't really know the difference between the lp studio, standard, and standard plus. In Canada they've also got a negative lp standard o.O
the diference between those guitars is mostly cosmetic, for an amp look at somthing like a peavey vypyr or a peavey 6505+
http://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i-GIB-LPST-LIST

Get this, then get a better amp used for around 200. I'm sure you could find one.

And the difference isn't only cosmetic. You mentioned that your LP-100 goes out of tune... that's just a quality issue with the tuners. Gibson has much better quality control than Epiphone, hence the price tag. They also use better tuners, better pickups, better everything because they don't need to worry about being "the cheap option".