I want to buy a US Strat, but i have very little knowledge on the different models available.
I go to the guitar store and there are literally 10s of different models, with a huge price range. Is there a good guide anywhere for what the difference is between a Highway 1 and a Deluxe? etc etc?

Also, i want to look 2nd hand to ensure i get good value for money, but how is the 2nd hand value of these guitars realised?
I have seen a nice USA HSS with S1 switch for less than £500 but have no idea if that would be a good deal.

I think what i'm looking for is a general guide of each Strat option and what the extra price brings, ie pickups etc.

Can anybody help?
Thanks
Last edited by branny1982 at Jul 6, 2010,
u really just have to try all them out, and hear and feel the difference for urself.
- Ibanez S470 (2004)
- late 70's vintage Fender Stratocaster (USA)
- VOX VT100 Amp
- Digitech Whammy Pedal
- Weeping Demon Wah Pedal
- Visual Sound Volume Pedal
- MXR Micro Amp
Quote by branny1982

Is there a good guide anywhere for what the difference is between a Highway 1 and a Deluxe? etc etc?
Yes, the Fender site.

Also, i want to look 2nd hand to ensure i get good value for money, but how is the 2nd hand value of these guitars realised?
I have seen a nice USA HSS with S1 switch for less than £500 but have no idea if that would be a good deal.
For American Standards and Deluxe models, you usually look up the new price and take off a third if the guitar is in great condition or halve the new price if it's a bit banged up. For MIA Highway One and Special guitars you typically halve the new price regardless of condition.