My friend broke his foot controller for his Guitar Rig 4 (I think he dropped it but he wont tell me ), but he never used it (or even installed it on his computer, he said it was a gift that he never used) so he gave me the CD.

Now I have the program installed, but I don't have any of the foot pedals or USB interfaces with it.

Instead of spending almost $300 on the Rig Kontrol foot contoller is there something else that I can use?

I already know plugging the guitar in straight (line in) just sounds like shite, is there something else that I can use that's cheaper? Hell even another company's foot controller as long as I don't have to buy more software with it.

I'm new to this stuff so I have no idea where to start.

I don't really wanna spend over $100, and I want to stay as cheap as possible without losing sound quality.

I read something about DI units would something like that work? And is there a cheap one I can find in Canada?

Thanks.
You could get any audio interface with a 1/4 inch input on it and run the software as a stand alone, however you would not have control over it with a foot controller.
Gear
Jekyll and Hyde
DD3 Delay
NS2 Noise gate
FAB chorus
Crybaby 535Q
HT-5 stack
1979 Gretsch BST 1000
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Schecter Gryphon
Fender American Strat
Taylor T5 Custom
www.facebook.com/fadeoutproductions
Quote by NnjRik
You could get any audio interface with a 1/4 inch input on it and run the software as a stand alone, however you would not have control over it with a foot controller.

Well I have a jack where I can just plug it in

Guitar > Computer

but it sounds like shit.

Quote by Ignite
What you need is an audio interface. You're not going to find anything cheap with a footcontroller, but something like a Pod Studio (used to be called TonePort) would work.

The GX is $99
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Line-6-POD-Studio-GX-with-POD-Farm?sku=250006&src=3WFRWXX&ZYXSEM=0&CAWELAID=254011685