What are the preparations before releasing a EP?

I'm not asking for anybody to give me a whole list of stuff (unless you want to!) because that's way too much work. But I guess I am asking....how do you get people excited about an upcoming release if you're unknown?It's easier to get people excited even if you only have 10 fans, but how do you do it when you have NO FANS? lol

Lately, I've been trying to think of ways to hype myself up, but dammit I feel like such a loser because I'm not getting any cool/different ideas.

Do you have any tips? In case you need to know, I'm a solo musician/guitarist ( I play and sing my own stuff)
you can pass out your EP to people you run into on the streets, you can pass them out at shows.. now considering you're 'unknown', and assuming this is your first CD... I wouldn't even charge anything, I'd just get rid of as much copies as possible. You should be more concerned with getting your name and music out there.

Remember, your CD is a promotions tool. You can use your EP to promote upcoming shows, promote yourself on Facebook, Myspace, Youtube, etc.

Also, IMO, treat an EP like a mixtape, something you don't need to spend too much time working on, something you can quickly throw together and pass out to people. Something like 3-6 songs.
At the moment I can`t think of any better way of promotion than simply gigging. If you have friends in some kind of journalist bussiness they could make some little reference of you if they had a chance. Or just spread around some flyers with your naked pictures. Or do nude gigs, that`ll give you some spotlight.