Went for my first lesson yesterday, my teacher spent the first 15 minutes asking me stupid questions while I just kept saying "alright let's do this, let's go, I'm ready!" I heard him play guitar for maybe 30 seconds, he made mistakes and at this point I'm not sure he's qualified to be an instructor.

I told him my objective was to get better, I want him to tell me what he thinks I'm lacking at and help me overcome those obstacles, told him I've hit a wall in my learning. What does he do? Makes me do really easy hand exercises and the natural minor/major scales until the time is up.

He did a poor job at answering my questions about modes and 7 chords.

At the end of the lesson I asked him how I could become an instructor one day, he told me at their store it's more about personality (no kidding). Says he has 25 years of experience as well.

He was nervous when playing in front of me, his hands were shaking, he was not confident.

I've been playing for 7 years, have taken lessons before and was very impressed in what I learned, so I went back and got this silly new instructor (I guess the old guy opened a restaurant).

Anyway guys...just thought I would share my grief...it sucks when you pay a few hundred dollars to receive bad lessons. I'm considering asking to switch instructors but how badly would that crush this guy? Maybe I just don't need lessons anymore, maybe I should just keep practicing. I'm definitely not a beginner.

Thanks for reading,

FIRST THREAD!
ive had this before, so i switched instructors and the place im at is very helpful and the instructors actually teach, so id suggest you swich instructors, it may crush the guy but if your not learning anything why stay with him??,, also, a few hundered?? i pay 35 usd per lesson, and they very very good lessons. if your any chance near canyon lake texas, thats where im at and ill tell ya where the place is
MIM Fender Strat
Ibanez AE series acoustic
Washburn Semi Hollow loaded with Di-Marzios
Main Street LP