I just started learning how to play the guitar (I'm about 6 months in), self learning with UG and I was recently reading all these articles and lessons on relaxing while playing...

I've tried, but I don't understand how people can be so "loose". When I pick, my right arm tenses up so I can control which string I hit and to make sure I can a nice strong sound, and my left arm (wrist, mainly) tenses so I can press down the strings hard enough to get a nice chord... My pinky is normally stiff too when I pick (either a billion inches above the board or curled up underneath it)

I'm eager to get better and a lot of articles keep saying you must relax and loosen up, but I can't get a clear sound or pick right when I do... ARGH!!

Help??
You have about the same guitar experience as I do, 6 months. I can`t get very relaxed because I simply don`t know to play, and a lot of hard work is ahead of me so practicing isn`t such a good time. But I`m sure that the better you are at it the better you can loosed up.
I haven't been playing long either (about a year) and I've had to work on that problem from the start. I have found that the best way is to start slow. Play things slow and it will be easier to stay loose. It takes a lot more focus than you might think, but if you start out slow and learn the right way, you can build up speed and stay loose with enough practice. Staying relaxed is something you have to do conciously at first, and if you do it the right way long enough, it will begin to come more naturally.