So I've been dabbling in guitar for several years now. I can play a lot of tabs, and I'm not horrible, pretty decent really, but I want to get good and I was wondering where I could start. I don't really know any scales or the notes on the guitar neck for each and every fret and I was wondering what I should practice to improve. I was wondering if anyone could give me specific things to look at, learn, practice, etc. to go from being quite average to a good guitar player. Thanks very much for any help!
It's kind of surprising that you've been playing for awhile and don't know that. Learn a Pentatonic Blues Scale; just one shape that you can move anywhere. Practice it for a while until you have it down. Also, learn all the notes on each fret of the 6th string. Memorize them. Say them out loud as you play them and shit. Then do the A string. Then the D string. And so on.

EDIT:
Also, you don't need 3 different threads on this.
Gear:
Epiphone Archtop Dot
Ibanez RG120
Peavey ValveKing 112
Dunlop Crybaby
Boss Distortion Ds-1
MXR Carbon Copy
Rocktron Banshee Talk box
Last edited by Drmmrboi180 at Jul 7, 2010,
i was in your situation once OP, so dont worry. if you search for 'pebber brown' on youtube, he has LOADS of lessons from basic stuff, so advanced shit. also provides free pdf lessons too (and i promise you, i have nothing to do with the guy, just passing on some valuable info)

his stuff reall helped me
DIMETHYLTRYPTAMINE
lol
Quote by Drmmrboi180
It's kind of surprising that you've been playing for awhile and don't know that. Learn a Pentatonic Blues Scale; just one shape that you can move anywhere. Practice it for a while until you have it down. Also, learn all the notes on each fret of the 6th string. Memorize them. Say them out loud as you play them and shit. Then do the A string. Then the D string. And so on.

EDIT:
Also, you don't need 3 different threads on this.