So I've been dabbling in guitar for several years now. I can play a lot of tabs, and I'm not horrible, pretty decent really, but I want to get good and I was wondering where I could start. I don't really know any scales or the notes on the guitar neck for each and every fret and I was wondering what I should practice to improve. I was wondering if anyone could give me specific things to look at, learn, practice, etc. to go from being quite average to a good guitar player. Thanks very much for any help!
Quote by Jukeboxguitar
So I've been dabbling in guitar for several years now. I can play a lot of tabs, and I'm not horrible, pretty decent really, but I want to get good and I was wondering where I could start. I don't really know any scales or the notes on the guitar neck for each and every fret and I was wondering what I should practice to improve. I was wondering if anyone could give me specific things to look at, learn, practice, etc. to go from being quite average to a good guitar player. Thanks very much for any help!

How many songs can you play by memory.... without looking at the tab?
shred is gaudy music
Quote by GuitarMunky
How many songs can you play by memory.... without looking at the tab?

Whole songs? Never really bother to learn absolutely every part to every song, but a fair amount of main riffs and such from songs I know.
First step is to go back and finish learning those songs.

Next step is to start learning the fretboard and some music theory.

After that, go back and look at all the songs you know and figure out why they sound good.
Quote by STONESHAKER
First step is to go back and finish learning those songs.

Next step is to start learning the fretboard and some music theory.

After that, go back and look at all the songs you know and figure out why they sound good.

^ nice

more or less what I was going to suggest!