Hi guys,

Today I was playing around on my guitar played a "chord" that sounded really good and I'm thinking did I just make that up or is it a chord I don't know about yet.

Here it is.

Tuning? It is a chord, do you want to know the scale/ name of the chord?
Sounds jazzy, but I really need the tuning that you're using
Last edited by Tsukuyomi789 at Jul 8, 2010,
ECDGDE
Your roots are probably going to be E or D.
Try D mixolidean, or maybe D7 scales over it.
Depending on the feel your going for. It sounds like one of those chords that are niether major nor minor, but it's jazzy. Again, whichever feel your going for. If your going for a happier feel, use mixolidean, or D7 for a darker jazzy feel.
I'm not too good with getting scales and chords right, and I couldn't name it if I tried. But try one of those scales over it.
Quote by DavidBenyamin
Your playing:

E (root) C (5th) D (7th) G (min3th) D (7th) E (root)

So its E min7th

you've got the notes right, but C is a m6 above E, not a P5. a P5 above E is B.

your notes are C E G D. depending on context, the name would change - but i'd say more often than not it would probably function as a Cmajadd9 chord. built off of E, you could see the C as a B# and treat it as the altered chord Em7(#5). what it's called depends on how it is used in the progression.

like i said, though, more often than not you'd use this as a Cmajadd9 chord.

EDIT:

Quote by Tsukuyomi789
ECDGDE
Your roots are probably going to be E or D.
Try D mixolidean, or maybe D7 scales over it.
Depending on the feel your going for. It sounds like one of those chords that are niether major nor minor, but it's jazzy. Again, whichever feel your going for. If your going for a happier feel, use mixolidean, or D7 for a darker jazzy feel.
I'm not too good with getting scales and chords right, and I couldn't name it if I tried. But try one of those scales over it.

no. you're just going to confuse the poor guy.