I signed up to do jazz band for my school.I'll be entering 11th grade and I was wondering what should i know technique-wise for guitar.I'm ok at reading music. I used to do it for middle and elementary school for violin and trumpet, so it was easy to relearn.

My friend told me the teacher doesn't know much about guitar. I've been playing guitar for 4 years, but i really don't know what to expect when playing in that kind of setting since it is very different from jamming with friends.

What are the chords i should know?
What are some tips you guys have from past experience?
Thanks!
learn every single chord in every popular variation
learn the 'dominant _' chords and 7th chords.
jazz has a lot of weird chords.
Quote by StraightxXxEdge
Quote by Truespin
you can't use a guitar to replace your lack of charm or social skills.

Worked for Malmsteen.
if you know basic jazz chords you'll be fine. Learn a few different forms of minor 7ths, major 7ths, and dominant 7ths. and then from there you can learn extensions like 8ths, 11ths, 13th, and weirder chrods like b5
Quote by ratracekid111
And the Tax! Dear God! When I only get one virgin a month, I want the whole freakin' thing! The damn government shouldn't be chopping it in half
dont worry about alterations for know
get the voicings down on both lower string sets.
1-3-7
1-b3-b7
1-3-b7
then work on the voicing root-5th-7th-3rd on all string sets for minor7 major7, dominant7 half diminished and diminished 7. then get used to dropping the 5ths and roots from these voicings and playing a lot of quarter notes (for swing tunes). learn a couple good latin grooves and funk grooves as well.
Be able to read both sheet and chord sheets fairly well by sight or with one run-through.

Know your chord inversions, and be able to modify chords on the fly, i.e. 7, add9, dim, aug etc. Essentially, be able to find any chord on the fretboard reasonably quickly, and be able to play them decently after one dry run.