Yeah, so I've been practicing through songs and i've been getting better around the fretboard, but is there a better technique out there? I want to be able to get around the fretboard pretty decently
It's not really a technique thing as much as it is just knowing your fretboard and having a bit of theory.
I'm a musician/composer before I'm a guitar player.

foREVer

R.I.P Jimmy "The Reverend Tholomew Plague" Sullivan.
if you know all the notes on the fretboard
and know what key your playing in
getting around it shouldnt be too difficult
Quote by Dynamight
Move your hand.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5AigXSgy0Y

Jaco's Modern Electric Bass, a good insight to the fundamentals of a player with great technique. Check out 3:58 onwards for good practice methods of getting around the fretboard (arpeggios and doublestops).. there's a music book for the video floating around. It's definately a combination of familiarizing yourself with your own neck and fretboard. Not only in theory but in feel, the concept of how an upright player may play (muscle memory/feel of the neck) still definately applies to electric bass, just in a different way. This goes along with a strong right/left hand technique to follow your left/right hand (including muting along with basic picking technique). I may be describing a means that may or may not be more innate to some players but it can certainly be learned.

"You've got to learn your instrument. Then, you practice, practice, practice. And then, when you finally get up there on the bandstand, forget all that and just wail." ~ Charlie Parker
Quote by FbSa
Back in the 70's I decided to take all the frets off Jaco's Bass thinking he would play worse. Man did that backfire.

[quote="'[x"]Huffy[x]']FUCK YES.

GSAWS, I LOVE YOU.
Last edited by Gsaws at Jul 10, 2010,
Thanks, I've been kinda in a rutt lately, this might help! But are you saying arpeggio's are a good way to learn?