have any of you guys tried the gibson shark fin?

i guess this is gibsons attempt to get in on heavy metal guitars?
i dont know how it sounds, and ive never played one. i saw the design and thought it could be made way better with small changes:

BETTER COLOR!!! it doesnt have to be the blue i picked but whats up with the sparkle gray, it looks like crap. just with the color it looks a lot better. then i put cream pickups, i like cream but black would work too. comfortable neck(i dont find gibson necks to be to good for shredding). better inlays; trapezoid, block, whatever, just not dot inlays. neck binding and an ebony board would be nice.

any thoughts?

oh and please dont laugh at my picture too much, im not a pro
it's an explorer with a chunk taken out of it.

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
Honestly, it looks like it's about 20 years too late (assuming it's a new model, I don't know).

It could very well be Nigel Tufnel's new signature.

Edit: Oh, and I think the colour has a lot to do with it being a 'shark fin'.
Last edited by Y00p at Jul 9, 2010,
Quote by Y00p

It could very well be Nigel Tufnel's new signature.

"Look the price tag's still on it, never played.
Don't touch it, don't point at it, don't even look at it! "

Is the fretboard even bound? It's kind of grainy and looks to be so, but I'm not positive.

Gibson doesn't need body shapes to get into heavy metal, they're already there a-plenty. If they released more models with EMGs stock people would eat it up. Our local craigslist isn't huge, but more often than not Gibsons that go on have had EMGs installed.

I also don't like that body design. On anything. So regardless I wouldn't buy one.
Quote by Wisthekiller
tl;dr How does one safely remove the smell of a corpse from a banjo?

Would you run down past the fence?

Tell us, is the black box lying?