As the title suggests, just got a new (well old) Ibanez RG560 and I've never worked with a Floyd Rose before. The strings on it had blatantly not been changed in a long time and there were several packs of light strings with it, so I restrung it with a pack of them.

Here is a picture of the bridge now.

I'm assuming, from my I've seen, the angle is far off from right. I know changing string gauges and all changes it, but I'd assume it were the same gauge/company as before, seeing as it came with it all. Just wondering what else I may have done wrong... Before though, it was still somewhat high I think, but not quite this much. Maybe I just tuned higher?

But yeah, just making sure I'm not going to completely mess it up it I leave it stringed as is for now until I can have someone more knowledgeable help me set it up better.

Thanks for any help.
Arms Of Empire
^ ^ ^ Band I am involved in ^ ^ ^
Please check it out? ;D

Axe FX II + EBMM JP6 + Jackson DK2S
nothing wrong with it, too much pressure coming from the strings, it's probably not in tune yet and some strings add alot of pressure
release the tension on the strings then tune them in this order
1. 6th string
2. 1st string
3. 2nd string
4. 5th string
5. 3rd string
6. 4th string
and keep doing this until you get the perfect pitch (it will take about 10 tunings or more in that order but for floating bridges every string that adds / releases tension affects all the other 5 thats why you must follow that pattern to kind of equalize the pressure)
if you did it at least once and bridge is still to high report back here :P
the bridge must be perfectly parallel to the body
Last edited by CastiConnubii at Jul 10, 2010,
is this your first time?
your supposed to do one string at a time but dont fret now you just have to loosen them all until its flat and tighten them little by little to balance the tension between the springs and strings
Quote by CastiConnubii