Alright, so I was recently discussing with a friend how he got such an awesome tone for his Killswitch Engage covers, and he told me about a program called guitar rig

http://www.native-instruments.com/#/en/products/guitar/guitar-rig-kontrol/

and I downloaded the demo to give it a shot, but how do I plug an electric guitar/amp into my computer? I'm a computer noob, so be kind
Last edited by bluntzilla2010 at Jul 10, 2010,
cheapest and easiest way would be to buy a 1/4" to 3.5mm adapter and use it to plug your guitar cable into the microphone input on your computer. That's how I did it before buying the Kontrol pedal to go with it.
Quote by iduno871
cheapest and easiest way would be to buy a 1/4" to 3.5mm adapter and use it to plug your guitar cable into the microphone input on your computer. That's how I did it before buying the Kontrol pedal to go with it.

I'm not even going to give the usual speech.

Do - not - plug - your - guitar - directly - into - your - computer

For something like this, your best bit is an audio interface.
Quote by Ziphoblat
I'm not even going to give the usual speech.

Do - not - plug - your - guitar - directly - into - your - computer

For something like this, your best bit is an audio interface.

OR you can plug directly and use a program called ASIO4all and perfect, you're good to go
i do it and it only gives me 5/10ms lag
versus the 30ms that i had before using ASIO4all
Quote by Fendet
OR you can plug directly and use a program called ASIO4all and perfect, you're good to go
i do it and it only gives me 5/10ms lag
versus the 30ms that i had before using ASIO4all

Yeah, but whenever you put on a high gain amp, or even a clean one, it'll sound like shit. Built in soundcards are not meant to be used for high quality in.
Totally forgot about ASIO4all You MUST have that software in order for this to work!

Ziphoblat