Hi everyone, I just ordered some Seymour Duncan Blackouts (AHB-1) for my Gibson SG Faded and have a couple questions about installing them. First of all, should I even attempt installing them myself? I've been playing guitar for about 2 years but I've never messed with the electronics inside a guitar so I have no idea how I would even begin to install new pickups. What would I need to do it myself anyways? And if someone could give me a step-by-step guide (a VERY simple one) I would greatly appreciate it. Also, if I don't install the Blackouts myself, how much would it cost if I brought it to my local guitar shop and had someone there do it?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!!!
Well,I'd go take it to a professional.. I wouldn't want to risk anything. It depends really how much they charge per hour.. Here it is like 40 to 50 euros per hour,but you can try to lower the price down a bit. I don't know how it is there.
Gear pics

Quote by Cathbard
Bugera cloning Blackstar is a scandal cloaked in a tragedy making love to a nightmare.

I wouldn't do it yourself. Bad idea. You don't want to mess anything in there up.
2012 Gibson Les Paul Custom Classic
2001 Schecter C-1 Classic
2007 Yamaha APX500
Vox AC15CC1 w/ Eminence Tonkerlite
Assorted Pedals!

All for sale!

Call me Matt!
If you've not done it before, take it to a professional. Installing active pickups requires replacing not just the old pickups but all of the old electronics, which may also mean you need to buy a new knobs. Fitting the battery sometimes requires additional routing and a new control cover, if the existing control cavity isn't large enough (which it often isn't on American-made SGs).