Scales modes... whatever these would be considered...

I've been playing for about five years now and, regrettably, just started getting into the theory side of things.

I haven't seen an explanation that makes sense to me for some reason... what exactly is the difference between different "modes?"

Like the difference between Cmajor and Ddorian... it's the same notes so how is it different?

Sorry for the noob question. ^_^

- Jeremy
c major has C as the root note D dorian had D as the root note
if you wereplaying in d dorian you would resolve to d
Quote by Waikyoku
just started getting into the theory side of things.

Well there's you're problem...

You can't just start out learning theory with modes (trust me, I've tried). Make sure you have a strong understanding of Tonal theory (Major Scale, Scale Degrees, Key Signature) before you start getting into modes.

Here's a good website to get you started: www.musictheory.net/lessons

To answer you're question (using the short answer), all the relative modes have a different root note, which changes how all the other notes interact with the root note.
Quote by leg end

"Roses are red,
Violets are bitchin'
Goddammit woman,
get back in the kitchen"
Quote by AeolianWolf
i second both responses given so far.

this here made my day
many times have i tried to answer a theory question only to be beat by aeolian wolf
its a different way of looking at the same set of notes, you can play d dorian when in the key of c major (specifically over the II chord), and it will have a different mood than c major but still be in key
Quote by cardsfan3
its a different way of looking at the same set of notes, you can play d dorian when in the key of c major (specifically over the II chord), and it will have a different mood than c major but still be in key