I am looking for advice and feed back on my goals and plans to achieve my goals. As well as advice regarding balancing my practice with other commitments etc.

Current skill level

Novice, I can play barre chords, open chords, intervals and a few triads that I know of. I have memorized the pentatonic, dorian and aeolian scales. Absolute beginner at arpeggios, can barely do hammer ons/pull offs. Just learned how to do pinch harmonics today.

As for alternate picking I can only play this about 80% speed, I'm not sure how much practice it will take to get the last 20%.

Goals

I am mainly interested it power metal/ neoclassical metal such as Ynwgie Malmsteen or Children of Bodom, instrumental rock such as Joe Satriani etc.

I want to develop the skills required to:
Play: canon rock
Play: Don't Say Lazy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oq0uZq5oq2I
Play: Never Die, To The Moon - IRON ATTACK! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fh1uZtWq0H0
Play: Renaissance Affair - Leonardo http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxrKuchuGqY
Play: Always with you, Always with me - Joe Satriani

I would like to achieve this level of aptitude within 3 years

Practice

I can currently dedicate 14 hours of focused practice per week (7-8 am and pm).
I am up to the end of stage two of Metal Method (been good for direction and short term goals).

Commitments

Study (42 hours/week)
Sports training (8-9 hours/week)
Travel (5 hours/week)

I have Saturday and Sunday off (unless I get behind in my studies and need to make up time).

Thanks.
Last edited by 03-13-2010 at Jul 11, 2010,
I would like to achieve this level of aptitude within 3 years

that sounds reasonable

If your going for a neo classical type sound i would recommend learning the Harmonic minor scale and Phrygian mode

practice with a metronome to help with your speed
Last edited by Coagulation at Jul 11, 2010,
i would just say keep learning new songs in the metal ish genre focus on matching the rhythm...(EVH has some good songs to learn)