Hey guys.

I'm getting a guitar for my 21st birthday and I'm going to get a metal guitar but I don't know anything about them.

I wanna learn how to shred and play megadeth (peace sells) style music, that's the type metal and shredding tone I really like.

I know there's a lot of metal guitars out there that are made for hardcore and petrucci/satch like tones and I really don't like that sort've new metal sound.

Also the guitar will need to be really good for shredding.

And for the love of god no floyd rose please lol, I hate those things with a passion.
Also I want a 6 stringer and I can upgrade the pickups at a later date too.

My budget is $900-1200 Aussie dollars.

Also I'm buying second hand. Cheers.
Im not good with aussie dolars how much is that in US
esp,jackson,ibanez,BC rich are the main brands you should be looking
they all have at least one model that will suit you
I have a Dean ML knight for sale man, has EMG's and the Floyd is blocked so you can do whatever tuning you desire! 550 plus the deluxe case!
Quote by ILLaViTaR
Hey mate, in US dollars it's $800-$1000.

I'd get something along the line of ltd/esp V-300 or up
I have v-200 a much cheaper model,I keep it tuned in a# and play behemoth on it and it stays in tune for a solid 45-60 minutes
I understand the no floyd rose thing,but a lot of the mid to higher end models have them!
Hey nah sorry mate, I wanna get a higher quality guitar.

Also I'm left handed.

Cheers,
Quote by ILLaViTaR
Hey nah sorry mate, I wanna get a higher quality guitar.

Also I'm left handed.

Cheers,

and that's why I said v-300 or up,keep in mind that the ESP proper models are a lot better than the LTD ones.
I'm guessing that you want something that you will use for the next couple of years
right?
Then save up and buy something like jackson rr-1 or some other US model,there should be a lefty out there.