Since I am new here, I have no idea what type of guitar you guys like/recommend.
Let me start by saying that while I am a fairly new guitarist, I am not that bad. I already know a few songs off by heart but I still have a lot to learn.
I have a really cheap electric (looks like a Fender Strat) that I bought off some Chinese site and it is truly terrible. From the 12th fret up, the frets are spaced wrong, not so you'd notice when playing individual notes, but in chords etc it is really noticable.

Anywho, I am looking to upgrade to something good, but not excellent. I am currently investigating the Ephiphone G-400 Cherry (or Worn Cherry). My price range is anything below $750-ish (AUD or USD). I live in Australia, by the way.

Any ideas?
P.S, I also want something with a more metal sound (and look, possibly)
Any help is much appreciated.
Look at Jackson. Great for metal.
Guitar:
Jackson DX10D Dinky
Ibanez Tone Blaster 150w head
Line Six 4x12 cab
Marshall MG10CD
Dunlop Crybaby from Hell

Bass:
Ibanez ATK
Random ass EQ thing that's not even a real bass amp
1x18 2x10 cab
I'd say buy an Epi Les Paul if you're looking at Gibsonesque products. It's a good guitar continue learning on and it's pretty versatile. If you like Fender's slimmer C shaped necks then maybe look into a Classic Vibe Telecaster. Those are the two obvious choices, but there are many great guitars from different companies in that price range as well. Agile 2000s are a fraction of that price and really solid LPish style guitars.
Gear:

Squier Strat
Epiphone Explorer
Agile AL-3100

No AMP
I'm an aussie myself,
I'd reccomend ordering an agile guitar from overseas... I don't think they are stocked anywhere in Australia, and they seem to be pretty good quality for the price.
For another $100 you can get a schecter Blackjack ATX, and god damn they are nice guitars, which would be my personal prefference for that price range, and it'd be perfect for a more metalish sound, they come with EMG's.