Hey guys, so I've been playing guitar for two years now and I can play decently. The thing is, I've hit a dead end and I'm just not improving skill wise. I took lessons in guitar for about a year but eventually all the guy was doing was teaching me how to cover songs, it didn't really seem to go anywhere.

So now ít's been a while and, yeah sure I can cover a lot of songs, like sweet child of mine, some lynyrd skynyrd songs, hendrix and that kind of stuff but let's be honest it's just covers. I still know absolutly ZERO about music theory, and I suck at improv except maybe blues.

I love playing the instrument and just playing along to my favorite songs but I notice that this way it doesn't really go anywhere and I'd really like to improve my skills. So how did you guys go about this, is a teacher required? Or can you suggest some helpfull links about learning scales, tools to practice etc?
Thanks!
There are two absolute truths about progress -

One is that it's necessary to improve and stay alive as a musican, and the other is that every so often, it stops happening

Theory is helping me break out of that a bit now, as well as learning some styles of gutiar I wasn't familiar with enough to play - well or at all. Other times you just have to keep playing - power through it.

I'd suggest a book called "Theory for the Contemporary Guitarist." by Guy Capuzzo. It's a great standalone book to get you into theory, and has tests, quizzes, and applications for what you learn. It's helped me tremendously.

Any
teacher isn't necessary, but a good one can be invaluable to you as a musician.
Do you feel warm within your cage?

And have you figured out yet -

Life goes by?
Quote by Hydra150
There's a dick on Earth, too
It's you
I recommend a good theory crash course. At the very least, learn the modes. Personally, I plan to study some theory this coming Fall in school.