I've been playing for 5 years now and I've been constantly switching around with basses. I started off with a small little cheap Dean, then got a Schecter Custom-4, then an Ibanez BTB 555, now I'm playing an Ibanez SR300. I do NOT like the SR. The frets are small, the neck is small and my fingers are way too big for it. And I have like $800 to get a new bass and I've been looking at the ESP Viper 414 and a Fender Highway One P-Bass. I play in a Deathcore band right now and the SR is doing as well as I'd like it to and my bandmates hate it. It doesn't sound good and it's just....meh! So if ANYONE can help me that'd, I'd be very thankful.
I own a BTB776. Fantastic bass, needs a proper setup I reckon before you get the most out of it but other than that it's fine. Pickups are a bit hot, can hiss a little bit with certain setups, but has a huge dynamic range and a big fat neck.

Schecters are generally good so long as you are spending money buying the higher end models. Low end models are probably not going to be as good as the Ibanez BTB series.

/opinion.
I've been thinking about a BTB again cause I love the tones you can get with them and the neck on them feels great. But, they're a little bulky and my band like to uhhh....crabcore.
PROUD VEGETARIAN!

Bass rig:
Fender MIM Standard Precision Bass (Ginger =])
Gallien-Krueger 1001RB-II 700/50W Biamp Bass Head
Carvin 6x10 Cab.
MXR M-80 Bass Direct Box

Quote by Offworld92
Choice is a wonderful thing.
If your band likes to ..."crabcore" you should probably spend the money on a pair of tight jeans and an emo haircut instead.

Nah, just kidding. I don't think you should choose your instrument on how you want to be on stage. You should choose the bass you like the most; the feel, tone, and perhaps the looks too.