Hello all, long time lurker first time poster here

Im an acoustic guitarist of ten years and latley i've been delving into the world of jazz.

Im having a bit of bother finding a suitable scale to work around a song i've written, so i thought i'd drop by and see if any one here can help, seeing as this is my no1 guitar resource site..

Anyway, the progression is played with a gypsy rag style stum and goes as such..

D6/9 ..&2&3&4 Dadd9b5 ..&2&3&4 A7 (walk up) ..&2&3&4 D6/9 ..1&2 A7 ..3&4

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Any help appreciated.

Edit: Sorry about the vague timing descriptions.
Last edited by conorkelly1982 at Jul 13, 2010,
First of all congratulations on your post, it's good to know it was to seek for help .

Have you tried to use some kind of diminished chord in those &1&2&3&4?

EDIT: sorry, had no time to write more. I'll explain this now.

You strum a chord, and then make 4 minor triads going up the fretboard. This creates instability (since these are dominants and sub dominants), which will lead to people to gain interest over that lick. After that diminished triad lick, you recover stability by struming the next chord. Get it?
Last edited by Baraga at Jul 13, 2010,
Quote by Baraga
First of all congratulations on your post, it's good to know it was to seek for help .

Have you tried to use some kind of diminished chord in those &1&2&3&4?

EDIT: sorry, had no time to write more. I'll explain this now.

You strum a chord, and then make 4 minor triads going up the fretboard. This creates instability (since these are dominants and sub dominants), which will lead to people to gain interest over that lick. After that diminished triad lick, you recover stability by struming the next chord. Get it?

Firstly thanks for the reply, I appreciate it.