Right, so I just got a job and I'm in serious need of a gear upgrade. I'm a drummer and bassist too so It's hard to divide cash up between them all

I currently play a cheap (but admittedly solid) strat copy, and It's getting on for 10 years old now, so I'm looking for a replacement. I've been looking at MIM strats and telecasters but I can't really decide. I like Les Pauls too but they're really heavy so it's not really my first choice.

I don't really play through an amp or in a band at all, but I play pop punk, rock, some classic rock and a little maiden every now and then.

Personally I'm leaning towards the telecaster but I really don't know.

Oh, it has to be left handed as well, which drives the price up quite a lot
Posted from Ubuntu.

Squier Precision Bass Special in Antique Burst (LH)
Rotosound Swing 66s, 45-105

On slapping on a bass:
Quote by supersac
pretend its a woman
i have no helpful advice

Buy something cheap that feels good like an Ibanez then throw better pick ups in it. When you buy a Les Paul or Strat, a quarter of the price is the name.
A used MIA strat/tele?
'08 Fender Deluxe Blackout Telecaster
'08 Squier Jagmaster w/ 2 DiMarzio PAFs (DP103/DP223)
'91 Seagull S6 CW Acoustic/Electric
Fender Super Champ XD
Digitech Whammy WH-4
EHX Big Muff Pi (NYC)
Danelectro Fish n Chips EQ
I would go your nearest guitar shop and give a few guitars a play. That way you will find the one that looks, feels and sounds right for you. The MIM's are good guitars once setup the way you want.
what about an sg? great sound and not as heavy as a paul. can get some good epi's for a few hundred quid. try gak.co.uk
Tokai SG in Ebony

Epiphone Les Paul Plus Top with Honeyburst Finish

Vox ValveTronix 15

Dunlop Crybaby Wah

Quote by 3volved
I'm a 'single-cut slut'...gotta go with the EC-1000.
Can't go wrong with Strats, can't go wrong with Tele's, can't go wrong with LP's!

Well you can, But stick with MIM, MIA, Epi, Agile, etc...
2012 Gibson Les Paul Custom Classic