Okay, I'm a guitarist. Been playing for 2 years. I've never owned a bass, nor have I really played on them much. However, I am planning on investing in one

I want it to be 5-string (if I get a 4-string to learn the basics on, within a month or two I'm going to want a 5-string to play my sort of music on, so I'm going to skip out the 4-string stage), and preferably look quite nice (I'm not fussy, but I don't want a horrible colour, or a plain wood-coloured one). I don't have a particular budget, but I want to spend as little as possible, without getting the cheapest, crappiest one. Low-end, but not low-end.

I don't know a lot about them, so I can't give a lot of detail about what I want. I play mainly metal and various subgenres of metal (melodeath, progressive metal, heavy metal, etc. etc.) so the bass would ideally want to suit that.

Any questions, just ask.

Thanks!
You're = You are
Your = Belongs to you

There = Not here
Their = Belongs to them
They're = They are
Thx.

Quote by Tim the Rocker
Good grammar is like sex. It feels good.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/5-String-Electric-Electric-Bass.gc?o=1
If you can afford it, I'd go for the squire as i find out of low end basses, squire stand out as being good, but I'm not sure If a squire will do for your genre's. Keep In mind most low end "metal" basses are most likely to sound extremely muddy.
Thunderbirds and Schecters are the best of the best for my preferences and your genres. (pound for pound)
take a look at http://www.rondomusic.com/bassguitars5.html. GREAT guitars, not only for their price range, but in general.
Quote by CoreysMonster
you know why rabbits are smarter than cows?

fucking cows start moo-ing around for no reason, but rabbits keep their mouth shut until they actually have something to say.

god I hate cows.
Quote by salgala2000
If you can afford it, I'd go for the squire as i find out of low end basses, squire stand out as being good, but I'm not sure If a squire will do for your genre's.

+1