Hey guys my new tubes are on their way for my 6505+ and im caught in a little dilemma. This is my first time replacing tubes and my parents are urging me to allow my uncle to install the tubes. He is an electrical engineer or something similar and they say he can do it. I spoke to him about it and he said he will look up the amp and let me know. But I just have this feeling that I would be better off allowing someone who fixes amps at a guitar store for instance, to install the tubes. I don't know what I should do at this point. I know many of you have experience with tube swapping so any advice would be appreciated.
You pull the old tubes out by pushing down on the metal on each side, and pop the new tubes in the same way, the metal on each side of the tube is a "gasp" thing.

Just remember to use a towel or something so you don't directly touch the tube and get finger ickyness on them as it will wear them out faster (apparently)

It's not hard nor do you need some sort of degree that to do it.
Last edited by BoL7z at Jul 13, 2010,
if he's handy, it would save you the cost of getting someone to do something as simple as replace the tubes. generally, all it takes is replacing the tubes, then re-biasing them (which involves turning some pots inside as well as measurements to get the right voltages etc etc). If he is an electrical engineer, he should be fine as long as he understands what he's doing.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.