What features of the SG caused Les Paul to not want his name on the Guitar?
"teh most gains"
All of them I think. :p I love the sound of the SG but I could never play one. They feel horrible.
When altitude dropping, my ears started popping. One more red nightmare...
Quote by rednightmare
All of them I think. :p I love the sound of the SG but I could never play one. They feel horrible.

angus young and tony iommi disagree

although they do feel really different its understandable that he wouldnt like it
Last edited by rickyj at Jul 14, 2010,
I think there were a lot of reasons, one I heard was that he didn't like the pointed 'horns'.

But one reason I heard is that he was about to divorce his wife and it had something to do with assets and money being made from selling guitars with his name on him (obviously I'm no lawyer but I vaguely remember reading something along those lines).
Quote by Weybl Himself
I think there were a lot of reasons, one I heard was that he didn't like the pointed 'horns'.

But one reason I heard is that he was about to divorce his wife and it had something to do with assets and money being made from selling guitars with his name on him (obviously I'm no lawyer but I vaguely remember reading something along those lines).

Hmm, that's an interesting theory, I've never heard that one before.
It makes sense though, I mean the LP and the SG are as different as night and day, and for someone to be so closely associated with the Les Paul (such as, well, Les Paul), the difference for him would be so huge that I could definitely see him not liking them at all. Also it seems to me like SG's would be a little bright for jazz.

I own one of each and I have to say I prefer the SG. Love the Les Paul too though, they're both great for what they do!
Quote by Weybl Himself

i actually recall reading this too, i think it was on the gibson wikipedia page.