hi im new 2 guitar can i hav songs 2 learn
thx

Hey.

I've been playing bass guitar for about 9 months or so, and recently picked up a Burswood guitar and amp for £20 (it plays decently, came with full set of spare strings and only needs one replacement machinehead).

I do have bass lessons, but these are stopping for the summer.

I'm just wondering about how to start learning the guitar. I've had it a couple of weeks, and just been playing around. I know some basic chords (A, E, D, G, Cadd9), and just been playing around with those and trying to get used to a pick.

I'm surprised at the lack of 'Guitar songs for beginners' thread like there is in the bass forum - is there just too many songs?

I'm interested in alternative/progressive rock/lighter metal - such as Muse, Radiohead, RHCP, Snow Patrol, Dream Theater (yup, too fast ), and also Paramore, Mayday Parade, and whatever those are classed as.

I've been looking for songs I like to try and play, but often they're too fast/complex for me. Can anyone recommend any good songs for a beginner?
(I do have a capo)
Chords, picking, or a mixture. Anything, really.

Thanks guys/girls.

EDIT: Realised I posted in the electric guitar forum...if this should be in technique, feel free to move.
Last edited by TheCommieDuck at Jul 14, 2010,
Californication - Red Hot Chili Peppers, play the riff with the bass part for extra practice with pull-off and that stuff.

must say i absolutely hated the start of your thread. too much shortening with your words.. =/

definitly try Charlie - form the peppers too not so hard but just reall a GREAT song to play if you get the feel behind it and just jam loose.

good luck! =)
learn some three days grace songs
Quote by MarijuanaIsGood
if the elephant on the left is green, and the spider on the right is blue, what is in the middle and WHAT THE FUCK COLOR IS IT??

Quote by ThatGuy153à
Yo stop tripping, its just a Purple Bag'O'Green

i dont wanna melt in 2030