Hey guys, I'm new to this whole thread-starting thing, so let me know if I'm getting anything wrong Also, sorry about the nondescript title, it's my first thread!

OK, so here's a little bit of background info about what I'm doing. If you want, you can skip the lot and go right to the questions, but I'm hoping you'll read it so that you'll answer my questions in more detail

So I'm a fourteen year old male guitarist, and I'm starting elective woodwork in Year 9 next year (I know, it's a long way off, but the more I know now, the less research I do later). I had this brilliant idea earlier today to use that opportunity to build an electric guitar. Then I realised my current skills with wood aren't that great YET (although, they aren't terrible either), so I've decided to start with something a little bit more mellow. Convert a 100AUD nylon-string Valencia guitar into a vibrant, colourful, authority-defying machine.
Brilliant, eh?
Anyway, I've been thinking about how to go about it, and it's turned into something along these lines (it'll get clearer the more I think about it):

1. Unstring the guitar (of course)

2. Saw the body in half along it's side, turning a killing 10 cm thick body into a slender 5 or 4.5 cm body.

3. (the order of this step is a bit vague) Cut a block of wood - anything will do, I'm not picky at this stage - into the shape of the body and slot it in, stick a truss rod through the neck - any old metal rod, actually - and bolt the neck to the body.

4. Screw the bridge into the body - apparently steel strings destroy classicals, hence the reason for all the bolting

5. Cut away cutaways can't play without access to all the frets, can we?

6. Install pickups and an output jack thing - you know, all that stuff that I know nothing about

7. Install inlays, paint and finish

8. String with light, low-calibre electric guitar strings, lower the action a little and plug in!

I've probably forgotten some stuff, but you get the idea.