I thought this would fit under bass mostly, I'm a guitarist but I really admire the bass and I can play bass quite a bit, beyond the 3 note follow-the-guitar Green Day nonsense. I may end up playing bass in my friend's band and I'd love to know how to play both guitar and bass well, but there's always that negativity flying around where people say "Guitarists can't be true bassists because they play guitar"...

Will I be able to get any respect as a bassist?

The reason I learned guitar and not bass is because my stepdad told me the bass just follows the guitar and is boring, and I was young at the time so I believed him.
dude to be a bad ass bass player is way sicker then being shreding sweet ass guitar player any day.

now what you will hear is "real bass players dont use a pick"
VHT Special 6 ultra
TC HOF Reverb
Line 6 DL4
EHX OD Glove
Fender standard Tele
Ibanez Rga121
Taylor GA 214E
Last edited by the_white_bunny at Jul 15, 2010,
Why would you worry about respect? If you want to play bass in your friends bass then play bass. Some bassists were originally guitarists. Like Paul Grey for instance. Just enjoy what you do!
I Like Deathcore, Deal With It!
Quote by Grave Robber
Why would you worry about respect? If you want to play bass in your friends bass then play bass. Some bassists were originally guitarists. Like Paul Grey for instance. Just enjoy what you do!

Hell Geddy Lee played guitar originally, and he's one badass bass player...
Duff McKagan used to play guitar, he changed to bass for Gn'R
john entwhistel
john paul jones
dirk lance
victor wooten

thread/
VHT Special 6 ultra
TC HOF Reverb
Line 6 DL4
EHX OD Glove
Fender standard Tele
Ibanez Rga121
Taylor GA 214E
I think its a ego thing if you know what your role is in the band you got nothing to worry about and bassists are always in more demand than guitarists I'd say so your more likely to find work.