Okay, so I'm a complete theory noob, and me and some mates started a band a few months ago. We started covering some songs, but now we're righting our own stuff. I know how to write chord progressions and can make songs based just around chords, but I don't know how to write riffs over those chord progressions. I mainly use the pentatonic minor scale. I don't know how to identify what scale I can use to play over the progression. Any help?
Sending a dummy to my God.

It's time to start learning some theory if you can't just hear what you want to play.

www.musictheory.net is a good starting place. And there are tons of guides on this site.
Quote by iduno871
It's time to start learning some theory if you can't just hear what you want to play.

www.musictheory.net is a good starting place. And there are tons of guides on this site.

I've used musictheory for a while and it's been fantastic! Another cool site (besides the lessons on here) is Cyberfret; they have some good "chord construction" articles
Quote by protest000
Okay, so I'm a complete theory noob, and me and some mates started a band a few months ago. We started covering some songs, but now we're righting our own stuff. I know how to write chord progressions and can make songs based just around chords, but I don't know how to write riffs over those chord progressions. I mainly use the pentatonic minor scale. I don't know how to identify what scale I can use to play over the progression. Any help?

Well first of all you need to know whether it's a major or minor key you're in, and also WHAT key (A, B, C, D, G etc).

Once you know that, you can use the appropriate scale to compose melodies/riffs/solos etc over the top of the chords.

For MAJOR keys you can use: major scale, major pentatonic, blues scale/minor pentatonic (yes, it works in major keys too), or even mixolydian modes in some cases (but don't worry about that too much for now).