Hi I'm learning Four on Six by Wes Montgomery as part of my placement audition for the Guitar Sessions camp at Berklee. I'm relatively new to playing jazz, but i'm getting better. But I'd like to know what scales are good for playing that specific song and any other scales jazz artists use normally would be nice as well. Thanks!
Quote by KoenDercksen
All scales... Jazz is really more about context and using that context to your advantage. Like accenting certain chord tones that aren't diatonic. I doubt you will find a jazz song over which you can solo with one scale.

What exactly do you mean by accenting chord tones that aren't diatonic? I've only been learning about music theory in the past few months with my guitar teacher. Do you mean like playing C Major scale over an A chord? The A and E notes will match, the C# and the C will clash (which makes it non-diatonic), but you're still able to accentuate that A note if you're careful.

Again, still learning about a lot of this music theory stuff, but it's neat when you can just say "Screw it. The notes don't all fit together, but it sounds cool." Going past the simple "This is a C Major chord, I have to play C Major over it" way of writing is when it gets fun
Ill give you the scales (the scale IS the chord and the chord IS the scale in a way) you should think about other scales that would work, available tensions and ways to use chromatics to add flavor and tension, as well as things like rhythmic pacing and phrasing.

four bars of g-7 some would say G dorian, G aeolian would work as well. you could also mess around with a harmonic minor sound (really just using natural 7ths and flatted 7ths together) or a minor blues/pentatonic sound.
a two-five to Bb. You can think C dorian, F mixolydian or Bb major over this part for the notes. make sure to bring out the chord tones and remember that the third becomes the seventh.
a two five to Ab same thing as above except for Ab major, Bb dorian or Eb mixolydian