Ok, so in a previous thread that I made, I stated that i am having noise problems in guitar rig.

The best way to describe the noise is that its like white noise with some very light electrical sounds mixed in with it.

Changing the latency in guitar rig has no effect on the noise.

I have also disabled "Power management for usb" as recommended by NI themselves. The noise is still there.

So now I am left with the recommendation of getting a recording interface.

My current setup is the Creative Audigy 2 ZS with external box.

I'm a noob regarding these "interfaces" but I need a little help with finding the right one for me.

First of all I'm amazed at how many bad interfaces are in existence....

I've been reading reviews on harmony central and some of them are shockingly bad.

e.g.

-some don't remember settings
-some aren't shielded from interference, etc....

Seems to me like one has to pick there interface very VERY carefully.

So anyway, I will give you all as much information as I can to make this easier:

1. It has to be properly shielded from interference (hence the reason why I'm buying of these damn things, lol)

2. I am not going to be recording more than one thing at a time so ONE guitar input and ONE mic input would be just fine. This way I can save money.

3. Decent preamps for both guitar and mic included (phantom power for mic). This one is really important because if I am going to spend the $$$ on an interface I don't want to have to buy a separate preamp as well.

4. Remembering settings is also handy

and

5. My budget is about $400-500

P.S.

This is a fairly important question as well.....

These things connect through firewire but I don't have a firewire card. The only firewire connection I have is on my Audigy soundcard....... which is no good.

When you buy an interface, is a firewire card generally included?
A firewire card is not included---