Hey, so I've had a guitar for a little while and taught myself basic techniques, skills, and stuff like that, but I'm really starting to get serious into learning now, so I was wondering if any of you more experienced guys out there could give me some advice on what to focus on learning, how to learn it, etc... I unno if this sounds dumb, but im really into learning on my own, but my problem is that I dont exactly know lmao... So any advice would be awesome

Thanks
im self taught as well and if your like me and you can play little riffs and things but you really wanna work on shredding and speed go ahead and learn some scales and just play them over and over again starting at a slow tempo till you master that speed then move up the tempo and eventually u can start linking scales and making a solo of some sort.
your welcome man. i asked the same question and i haven't really been working on it a hell of a lot but ive been working on sweep picking and i practice my scales and i have become a better lead player. i got rhythm down but i want my lead to be stronger. you know?
1) Use the internet to your advantage. There's boatloads of information out there if you just search for it. Always remember to cross reference because there is bad information out there.
2) Learn what's most important for you at the moment. For example, if the music you really want to play uses a lot of alternate picking but you're not that good at it, work on that a lot.
3) Keep an eye on your technique at all times. Just remember the less tension you have in your body and the smaller motions you make, the better. It's hard not to develop bad habits when you're self-taught because you have to be the judge of your technique. So stay relaxed when you play.
4) Pretty obvious one but sometimes overlooked: Pain is bad. If you feel pain then you're doing something wrong and you should take another look at how you're playing or post a video of you playing in the technique analysis thread.