So I've been playing guitar for about 4 years, and I was just wondering, what do I need to learn to be able to create more interesting riffs? More importantly, do most death metal/ tech death bands know music theory?

For example, I would love to be able to throw down a nice solo in some of my songs, but the process is grueling for me. It pretty much just involves taking one of my fav. riffs from the song, going up an octave, and tinkering around.

Do bands such as Between the Buried and Me, As Blood Runs Black, Conducting from the Grave, etc, all know music theory?

If so where should I start? I believe I need a book. I know steps and intervals, and the circle of fifths, and a bit about triads, but once I get further the internet seems to fail me.

I know I asked a lot of questions, hopefully you guys can help.
Ive been playing almost as long as you have, and i used to force myself to come up with riffs. towards the end they would always end up sounding very generic and i didnt like it. instead i starting writing my own music and i stopped comparing my sound to other bands. and so far theyve been pretty badass. i dont know alot about music theory, mostly chords, and stuff like that, but if you wanna write something good, for me, you gotta feel it and forget about everyone else

edit: start by learning scale patterns in the key your riff is in. that should help alot
Last edited by killer puppy at Jul 17, 2010,