This is not a question, it's a discussion basicly.

I don't want us to discuss the diatonic and pentatonic hybrid scale. cause it's very simple.

I've recently read about hypermodes and scales. It's combining two scales with the same tonic togther.
for example imagine playing a mix between Aeolian and Phrygian. and not over their main chords like Pitch Axis theory, but playing them togther and doing thransitions by using the commen notes between them.
for example

E phrygian is E F G A B C D E
E Aeolian is E F#G A B C D E

so the hybrid scale is E F F# G A B C D E

I'm a guitarist and I'm arab and well infromed in oriental music theory, and we do that ALOT, since oriental music is mostly based on melody we make alot of "modal" changes!

for me it sounds very good, tell me what do you think?
what other hybrid modes, scales do you know and find intresting ?

Another discussion:
If you tried the Pitch Axis Theory.
what transitions betwee diffrent modes do you find beautiful.
I've heard from many people that Major nature modes ie Ionian, Lydian and Mixollydian are "smoother" to switch between that switching between the Major and minor modes. and Minor nature modes from the other hand are also smoother to move between.

But I'm talking about switching between major and minor modes.
for example I think that Inonian to Phrygian is awfully ugly !!!
lydian to phrygian is filled with emotion ..

what abotu you ?
Last edited by obay at Jul 18, 2010,
Dorian and Aeolian over a minor blues. Phrygian in place of Dorian can work depending on the lick or melody you play, and how it fits with the underlying chord progression. For something cool, try the flat 5th of the Locrian bent up or hammered to the 5th and then the minor third, to resolve a phrase.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borrowed_chord

"Mode mixture" is employed in most rock music, although usually it's those between ionian and aeolian, rarely going outside (either way) to lydian or phrygian.