Hopefully I'm posting in the right area, if not please direct to the right spot.

Well today the cops got called on me...again..for the third time. Apparently my music was to loud ( 1.5 volume on my 50 watt Mesa Boogie Express. Clean channel) and I figured Id use the money I had been saving for recording equipment.

I used to record at an acquaintance's house. All he used was a laptop, a Line6 tone port and Ableton software. I figured id do the same. I really liked his set up because it required no amps. Simply plug your guitar (or bass) into the UX2 and use the amps and effects it provided. I'm new to this whole recording thing. Ive been reading around this forum for things needed and I just wanted some of your opinions,advice and help.

I have 1,500 saved, I dont really want to use it all, but I will if I have to. I want to be able to record guitar, bass, and I believe ABLETON has a drum machine.

What I planned on getting:
Line 6 POD studio UX2
(http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Line-6-POD-Studio-UX2-with-POD-Farm?sku=250004)
Ableton Suite (I'm going to download this, **** buying it)
Maybe a Desktop
and an HDMI cable so I can connect my computer to my TV.

Question/Concern: Ive been reading around and something that users keep mentioning is space and what software computers are running.
I have a laptop (HP running Vista) but its my school computer so I dont want to run recording software on it (I hear it takes a lot of space). So what do you all recommend I do?

Line 6: I hear these are problematic because of ^^^ and other issues. What are other recommendations for plug and play recording devices that also have built amp and effect choices?

Id really appreciate all your help. I dont want anything that takes up to much space. I plan on moving into a dorm or apartment for Uni. Once again thanks for all input in advance.