Page 1 of 2
I've been practicing guitar for about 6 months now and I'm still very upset at what I'm able to (or what I'm not able to) do.

So I'm wondering, what songs could you perform around your 6 months time? Or, what techniques were you doing? It'd be awesome if maybe you could also mention whether you had lessons or not and such.

I want to get a sense of where I am in comparison to others.
Everyone's different, less than 2 years and you're still a beginner.
ive been playing for 7 months... and 7 months when i was 13... but im 20 now so idk if it counts or what not i guess total overall i have 14 months guitar experience but i really didnt know shit back than any way...

i can play these songs cleanly:
wish you were here-pink floyd
hey john whats your name again- the devil wears prada
reptar king of the ozone- the devil wears prada
dogs can grow beards all over- the devil wears prada
alerion- asking alexandria
the final episode- asking alexandria

i can play:
sunshine of you love- cream (but havent figured out the last 10 seconds of the solo)
danger wildman- the devil wears prada (most of it cleanly with a few exceptions)

than a bunch of random riffs, parts of a lot of different songs, but nothing else completely.. even like 3/4s of some and im just lazy

you get what you put into it.. i tend to do better with music i like..
somethings i just completely suck at while other things im satisfactory at

for example i have trouble learning certain strumming patterns, but alternate picking comes to me very very easily... bunch of diff shit

oh and im self taught, i practice prolly 10-20 hours a week

EDIT.. as far as knowledge i know all the basic chords. some barre chords. hammer on's, pull-offs, got natural harmonics down, working on pinch harmonics, alternate picking, bunch of different scales...

oh and i used the beginner lessons on about.com lol

ive only done the first 6 lessons theres actually a decent amount of good information believe it or not.