What are some good rules of thumb for what notes to play when soloing?

For examples, when the song starts borrowing a lot of different chords, what notes/scales complement them well? Are there any good guide lines for this? I know there's no hard fast rule to it, but what are some guidelines to get started on?
I am also interested to see peoples responses.

to contribute, whenever I approach a jazz solo, i look at the key changes, and the chords and go at it from there. as well, i try and borrow licks from the melody and make my own riffs from that.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.
I am studying jazz in college now and the few things i can say quickly are: Always try to outline the notes of the chord especially the thirds and sevenths. And number two is learn as many solos of good jazz musicians as possible. Those are the most important things.
ughh been my mind is mind bottled with this stuff

right now im really trying to focus on placement of chormatic / un-diatonic notes and more importantly resolution notes.. this diverges slightly into secondary/ leading tone dominants, im guessing..

Brett Garsed IMO best jazz guitar solo shredder dude :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIjQDxPYA8c&feature=related

watch his picking hand
My Gear:
JacksonStars KE TN-02
Jackson DK2M
Jackson WRXT
Jackson KSXT
Jackson DXMG
Jackson 7 String soloist

Ovation Celeberity