Hey!

So i recently bought a Schecter Stilletto 5 string bass. and its everything i wanted and more, like its just amazing to me. I have one question tho, What is the point of the Low B String? and what do people normally use it for? Like ive never actually used the lowest string yet, but im a bass noob so i dont really know whats the point.

So can anyone just explain to me what the advantages are?
Originally Posted by CaptainJack666
i can see why he likes elevators, theyre a truly uplifting experience

Join The NSW FTW Group
PM Lrn2shrd69, Greekmagician or dougie_mate to join.
i have an extremely similar bass, the schecter 5-string hellraiser bass. I originally got it with the low B. Most often its used in the many types of metal and stuff, and alsom it gives easier access to notes, because you dont have to jump too much all over the fretboard and stuff. In my experience, i didn;t really like it and didnt use it, so i went and bought myself a 6-string set and put on a high C instead of the low B because i like playing stuff on the high frets and it just feels great to me. Idk if that helped but i hope it did.

to put it shorty, the low B is used mostly in metal and stuff and for easier access to different notes.
Quote by hellbasser
to put it shorty, the low B is used mostly in metal and stuff and for easier access to different notes.

Bull-****ing-shit! The whole point of adding an extra string is to increase the range of notes one may play. It's not a "genre" specific feature.
I use the low b for a few things. one, I dont always have to change tunings if our guitarist goes to drop d, and i play some parts an octave lower than they would usually be, just to get more low end or make the band's sound seem bigger if its a part of the some that I want to stand out. You could also use it to match what a 7 string guitar plays, but I play bass in a bar cover band so im not playing too much metal or anything with 7 string guitars.