So, I've been playing guitar for upwards of four years now. I've always been self-taught, and, as a result, I never really noticed the issues with my playing, but, as I'm getting older and having a better ear for such things, I've decided I want to go back and refine my technique because it has a lot of faults. One of the most basic things I see wrong with my technique is when I'm alternate picking, and the riff switches strings, I seem to lose myself for a couple of seconds while the pick finds it's way onto the string again. I dunno exactly what the problem is, just that it's something to do with my picking hand (my left hand keeps up with the notes fine). Any suggestions?
"I'm not concerned about all hell breaking loose, but that a PART of hell will break loose... it'll be much harder to detect." - George Carlin
learn economy picking
MY GEAR:
PRS SE Custom 24
Jackson DKA7
Gibson Explorer
MESA/Boogie Express 5:25
BOSS GT-100

BOSS TU-2
Dunlop Cry Baby Classic
BOSS NS-2
VOX Joe Satriani Ice 9 OD Pedal
VOX Joe Satriani Time Machine Delay Pedal
Ernie Ball Strings
V Picks
yeah i got that too, playing about 5 years self taught. I checked out a couple of the articles for economy picking and such to make sure im picking in the most efficient direction whenever i'm playing, besides that i like to find some sort of string skipping or sweep picking pattern that's easy for the left hand then i just slow it down and stare at my right hand looking for things it's doing wrong then i fix it at super slow then work my way back up dropping down tempo again if it ever messes up till i get something consistent pretty much. Hope it helps
Wow, that helped.

Just slow all the way down, practice very slowly, make sure everything is correct
ProTone Pedals: Attack Overdrive
Fractal Audio: AxeFX 2
Engl: Fireball 60
Zilla: Fatboy 2x12
Carvin: DC700
Carvin: Vader 7
Schecter: KM-7 MKii
Schecter: Banshee 8 Passive
Jackson: DK2M
Hi,