So I'm new to recording as in I've never recorded but I would like to start

I am at a loss however I am trying to find a way to record using a pod xt live connected with a USB directly to my computer but I'm having no luck

so with that if anyone would like to help with a step by step aid that would be nice just assume that I have a USB cable, reaper or audacity and a pod xt live (plus obvious stuff like computer, guitar, cable)

thanks
Ibanez RG5EX1
Ibanez RG7321
Peavey XXX-->Avatar 4X12(2 V30's 2 G12H30's)

BARE KNUCKLE PUPS RULE!
Quote by gumbilicious
thanks for making an old dude feel like his advice is actually taken into consideration
In Reaper, go to options -> preferences -> device and set input device as USB and output device as your speakers, then press the button with the letters (ar) on your track to arm it for recording, hit the record button and play.
Okay but do I need any drivers like asio or anything else? Thanks again
Ibanez RG5EX1
Ibanez RG7321

BARE KNUCKLE PUPS RULE!
Quote by gumbilicious
thanks for making an old dude feel like his advice is actually taken into consideration
I didn't take that into consideration sorry. I've never used POD before, but I know a bit about Reaper. If you have the USB plugged straight into POD then into your computer, go to device, set ASIO as your audio system, set ASIO driver to POD and make sure enable inputs box is checked. The inputs should be set then, if not set them to (First-1: in 1) and (Last-2 :in 2). Then that should have it set up. My first info was for if you have a jack running out of your POD into your computer, again sorry about that.
Thanks man if I need any more help I'll be sure to ask
Ibanez RG5EX1
Ibanez RG7321

BARE KNUCKLE PUPS RULE!
Quote by gumbilicious
Luckily I have the PodXT Live and I use it with REAPER

Setup to use with REAPER: