I realize that this comes up a lot on these boards and they get annoying, but i just cant seem to do it. I've been playing for 3 years and i have no problem playing while sitting or while standing as long as its not below the 14th fret. After that point it gets almost impossible. Some of the songs im trying to play require me to use my pinky on the high frets of the sixth string but i just cant reach it.

Is there a specific way the left hand is supposed to be placed against the fretboard while standing?

When i play sitting my thumb is usually on the back of the neck and my hand and fingers are lined up with the fret board, but when i stand my thumb usually wraps around the neck

I've tried having my hand lined up with the fretboard but the requires me to put my thumb on the middle back of the neck and my whole wrist then just sticks out farther than my hand and fingers and its really uncomfortable and if i let my thumb wrap around the back of the neck i cant reach the sixth string with my pinky. Whatever i do my thumb always seems to get in the way.

I play with the guitar right about at my waist, with half of it touching my stomach (Pretty high already). So is there anyway to teach myself to play while standing without playing like Tom Morello? I realize practicing while standing helps but i can't practice if my fingers wont even reach the frets.
Quote by Funk Monk
Change the stance of your body when you get to higher frets.

+1

I tend to jut the neck out further than normal and tighten my knees in Looks cool mid solo.
"You can drink an ugly chick hot, but you can’t drink a fat chick skinny."

Fender: HSS Stratocaster

Modulus: 1991 Q5

Peavey:158BASS
Marshall: MG30FDX
Acoustic: B200