So, i am a bassist and i want to start a band soon. My two favorite bands are rise against and breaking benjamin and i want to (atleast try) and form a band that is kind of a mix up of the two. What qualities from each band do you think i should take? I can write songs (lyrically, i also write lyrics) that sound like them seperatly, but how do you think i could make something that sounds like them both? Im getting guitarpro 6 soon so the actual music consept will come later. Thanks for the advice, and please, dont come and spam how either of these bands suck. I like them and you dont have to, so if your just gonna judge then please go away.
There is a saying in poetry, "show me, don't tell me." here you are announcing everything, like an announcer to a sporting event. "Dave has the ball. Dave passes the ball. Dave picks his ass."

~Zanascross

XD epic win
You're*
Quote by Bill43

I wouldn't know an Opeth song from an Egg McMuffin
Im not trying to sound just like them, of course i want to put my own style in there as well. But i enjoy playing stuff like both of them and i want to try and make a sound that comes from both, since they are two different genres, i want something that sounds good from that, i just dont know what though.
There is a saying in poetry, "show me, don't tell me." here you are announcing everything, like an announcer to a sporting event. "Dave has the ball. Dave passes the ball. Dave picks his ass."

~Zanascross

XD epic win
Quote by NOTAFOX
Im not trying to sound just like them, of course i want to put my own style in there as well. But i enjoy playing stuff like both of them and i want to try and make a sound that comes from both, since they are two different genres, i want something that sounds good from that, i just dont know what though.

I repeat:

Play what you think sounds good. Your style will already be influenced by what you like to listen to, you won't have to try.