Hey everyone my band has recently kinda started to take off and we're playing more regular shows in our area! A good friend of mine is going to sell me his JCM2000 for a good price since im short on cash (broke college kid ) The only thing I need now is a cab. I'm thinkin of going with a mesa, but I have no experience with bigger amps and what sounds good with what. I'm also 2 hours away from the closest guitar center so I want to know exactly what to try out when I get there/make the most of the trip. I'm not looking for death metal brutal tone, more of a combo of Underoath/Every Time I Die meets As I Lay Dying. I want some good tight punch for heavier sections of the music , but I don't want it to be complete sonic destruction in the more melodic parts.

Also I'm not entirely sure of the tubes he has in it right now, but if anyone knows a good setup for a good metal tone let me know.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give!
If you're on a budget maybe check out Avatar cabs, they have a good reputation around here
Member #10 Of The Black Tooth Grin: Dimebag Memorial Club. PM Narmi To Join
One thing to bear in mind is that the 2000's don't have the gain you are looking to get out of the box. You will defiantly need a pedal to kick the 2000 into the territory you want. It kind of gets there on its own but looses all clarity in the process. Sadly for me I don't like using pedals for gain as I have yet come across a pedal that doesn't detriment the tone of the amp to my ears so my DSL100 had to go.

I used to run mine into an Engl standard cab w Celestion V60's and it was okay but a bit spikey on the highs. Out of all thr cabs I tried I thought it sounded best through a Marshall cab, i tried it on a mode 4 cab with Celestion G12 100ks and loved the focus those speakers give. the 1936 and 1960 cab I tried sounded crunchy, middy and raw which nicely complimented the amp, but it was in no way suited for metal.