First post!

I'm putting together a Warmoth 7-string. I was dismayed by how far from the neck they routed for the neck pickup. Comparing it to my other guitars, it looks like the neck pickup will interfere with my picking. Plus I'd like to have as bluesy a tone as possible, which means the neck pickup should be as close to the neck as possible.

But they're telling me that routing the neck pickup cavity any closer to the neck will risk stressing and then breaking the wood by the lower horn. Doesn't make much sense to me, as the neck is bolted to the body with 4 screws through the back of the neck pocket, and so I can't imagine it putting that much pressure on the wood in front of it. I'm sure if one wanted to, one could even bolt the neck with a millimeter of space between the end of the neck and the front of the neck pocket.

But I'm no expert.

Below is a pic, and keep in mind the scale length is a short 25".

So what do you think? Can they safely move the neck pickup cavity closer to the neck?

Last edited by jscomposer at Jul 21, 2010,
You should be fine. My 7 string build was probly half that width between the neck pickup and the neck pocket. I've had no problems whatsoever and it sounds wonderful.
that looks about as close as you can get it man. i would listen to them and not try to go any farther, the edge of the cavity is damn close to the horn, and so close that even if you did move it, it wouldnt be by much.
Quote by Diet_coke_head
Hey! Now you can molest you're grandma and she won't remember! Score!!!

Gear:
Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass
Fender V Jazz
Ashdown MAG 410
EH Bass Big MUff
MXR Bass Octave Deluxe
Digitech Synth Wah
Here's another pic. The upper edge of the neck pickup cavity is currently 1/2" away from the edge of the fretboard. Looks to me like they could easily get it within 1/4", no? (BTW, there's no fretboard overhang.)

I see a consensus building... not in my favor!

What do you think of this...